Latest News
Sad News PDF Print E-mail
News - Latest News
It is with the greatest of regrets and sadness that I have to inform you all.

That our Chairman Ian Greaney passed away last night at the Royal Gwent Hospital.

Our deepest condolences go out to all his family

You can send sympathy card to his Wife Susan and family to 14, Beechleigh Close, Greenmeadow, Cwmbran, Torfaen. NP44 5EF

I will inform you all of the Funeral details when they have been arranged.

Any quires please contact me.

Edwin G. Cox.

Hon. Secretary.

Monmouthshire Referees Association.
Pembrokeshire's 100th Anniversary PDF Print E-mail
News - Latest News

The Valero Pembrokeshire Referees’ Society celebrated their Centenary with a gala dinner at the Cleddau Bridge Hotel on Saturday 11th October.  Chairman Jonathan Twigg welcomed 95 people to the celebration dinner where guest speaker was Premier League referee Mike Dean, accompanied by his wife Corran.  The MC duties were undertaken by local sports guru Bill Carne with the dinner opened with grace, given by Society Vice Chairman Sean O’Connor.

Former Society Secretary and RAW Chairman Pedr McMullen regaled those present with a brief trip down memory lane before proposing a toast to the RAW which was responded to by RAW Secretary Gareth Keenor.  Mike Dean held court for a sustained period as he spoke about his career, refereeing in general and the upsurge in technology to support the top end of the game.  His humour and love of football was evident throughout his 90 minute stretch on his feet where he welcomed a range of questions from those present.  Photographs were taken by by Annie Latham of Haverfordwest.

Jonathan Twigg ended the evening by thanking those present for attending alongside sponsors Valero,  Riverlee and Steve Briers Disco.  Popular Whitland referee Angus Scourfield won the Referee of the Year award which was presented by Mike Dean, although Angus wife nearly missed the award through drifting off asleep.  The thanks by Jonathan were extended to Des Shanklin, The Kings Arms Pembroke, Richard Fanus and Cleddau Bridge, Tesco and Morrisons who supported the extensive Bottle Bank raffle which was won by Hakin United Chairman  Lance Ruthford, on a table from Manderwood.

Other guests welcomed included the Pembrokeshire League, WWFA, WWRA, Cardiff, Swansea and Carmarthen Referee Societies, Angle AFC and sponsor Riverlee.  Apologies were received from FAW Referee Manager Rodger Gifford who accepted a trip to Latvia ahead of Pembrokeshire and FAW Chief Executive Jonthan Ford alongside a number of Society Vice Presidents and friends.  In his closing speech Jonathan did express disappointment as to those people who had not attended but it was decided there absence was there loss. He also expressed concern for how football was developing in Pembrokeshire and called for the Pembrokeshire League, all Clubs and referees to work closely together to ensure its sustained enjoyment for all.

The organisation of the event was co-ordinated by Jonathan and Sean which President Danny Thomas highlighted before presenting Mike and Corran with gifts on behalf of the Society for their attendance, where he hoped to welcome them as friends to the County once again. Mike was duly thankful and thanked the Society ‘for the warmth of the welcome he had received and for the way in which those present engaged and participated in his speech’.

Photographs: [acknowledgment to Annie Latham, Haverfordwest]

Valero Pembrokeshire Referees Society members 2014

[l-r] Treasurer Ian Baxter; Pedr McMullen; Mike Dean; President Danny Thomas; Chairman Jonathan Twigg;

Euro 2016 Appointment PDF Print E-mail
News - Latest News

Euro game for Lee and his team. Congratulations !!







Tórsvøllur, Torshavn (FRO), Group F, 20:45 CET

Faroe Islands - Finland
Referee: Lee Evans (WAL)
Assistant Referees: Philip Thomas (WAL), Lewiss Ross Edwards (WAL)
Additional Assistant Referees: Mark Whitby (WAL), Huw Jones (WAL)
Fourth Official: Daniel Beckett (WAL)
UEFA Delegate: Dennis Cruise (IRL)
UEFA Referee Observer: Cyril Zimmermann (SUI)

Europa League Play Off PDF Print E-mail
News - Latest News

Shakhtyor v PSV Eindhoven

Referee:      Lee Evans
Assts:          Phil Thomas & Gareth Wyn Jones
4th Official  Bryn Markham-Jones
AAR’s:         Mark Whitby & Nick Pratt

Warning: imagecreatefromjpeg() [function.imagecreatefromjpeg]: gd-jpeg: JPEG library reports unrecoverable error: in /home/www/ on line 334

Warning: imagecreatefromjpeg() [function.imagecreatefromjpeg]: '/home/www/' is not a valid JPEG file in /home/www/ on line 334

Warning: imagecopyresampled() expects parameter 2 to be resource, boolean given in /home/www/ on line 351
Officials To Jet Off PDF Print E-mail
News - Latest News

Welsh Officials are busy on their travels over the next few weeks. First to jet off this coming Wednesday.

Lee Evans and his team as they head to Belarus to take charge of Shakhtyor who play Dutch giants PSV, the tie is evenly poised as PSV hold a slender one nil lead.

Following Lee is Bryn Markham Jones who is travelling to Estonia as they face Bulgaria in Tallinn on Tuesday 2nd October in an European U21 qualifier






Shakhtyor v PSV Eindhoven
Referee:      Lee Evans
Assts:          Phil Thomas & Gareth Wyn Jones
4th Official  Bryn Markham-Jones
AAR’s:         Mark Whitby & Nick Pratt

Estonia v Bulgaria
Referee:  Bryn Markham Jones
Assts:       JB Roberts & Michael Gray
4th:           Huw Jones



Page 1 of 15